William Brewster Snow Award

William Brewster Snow Award Nomination Submissions

This award is given annually to recognize an environmental engineering graduate student who has made significant accomplishments in an employment or academic engineering project. The award consists of a plaque and a $250 cash prize. Nominees for this award must be enrolled part or full time in an environmental engineering graduate program pursuing a Master's degree in Environmental Engineering or a closely related degree program, or have completed a Master's in Environmental Engineering, or a closely related program, one year or less from January 1 of the year in which the Brewster Snow Award is presented. Eligible applicants will be judged based on academic program and performance (45%), professional or community service (15%), engineering project accomplishment (25%), purpose and goals (10%), and any other evidence provided (5%).

Electronic nomination packages should include: (1) a nomination form; (2) a transcript verifying that the student has achieved a minimum GPA of 3.3 (on a 4.0 scale) in Master's degree program coursework; (3) Documented successful completion of the Fundamentals of Engineering Exam; (4) Two academic letters of recommendation; (5) Evidence of active participation in a student or regular chapter of an engineering related professional society, or evidence of active participation in school, community, or organized religious activities; (6) An applicant prepared summary of accomplishment in an engineering project in the candidate's workplace employment if a part time graduate student or recently graduated Master's degree recipient, or an applicant prepared summary of accomplishment in a graduate engineering thesis, project, study or the equivalent approved by the student's major advisor or graduate coordinator (limit 1 page); (7) An applicant prepared statement of purpose in pursuing a Master's degree and goals for first 5 years of professional practice; (8) Any other evidence of merit, papers, honors, recognition, etc.

Questions may be directed to the chair of the AAEES Foundation Awards Committee:

John E. Tobiason, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
University of Massachusetts at Amherst
e-mail: tobiason@umass.edu; Tel: 413-545-5397

CLICK HERE to submit your nomination.

Past Recipients

Year Recipient
2016 Gregory Hinds (University of South Florida)
2015 John Trimmer (University of South Florida)
2014 Abhinav Gupta (Virginia Tech)
2013 Dustin Bales (University of South Florida)
2012 Sarah Ness (University of South Florida)
2011 John Maxwell (Clarkson University)