AEESP Fellows

Nomination Form
Eligible nominees must have a minimum of 10 years of faculty-level membership in AEESP. It is expected that nominees will have achieved full promotion or emeritus status at their respective home institutions.

AEESP Fellows will be selected based on their accomplishments in environmental engineering and science research, teaching and professional service, with emphasis on service within the AEESP. Selection will be for life or the duration of membership within the AEESP.

Nominations may only be submitted by a member of AEESP; self nominations will not be accepted. Nomination packages must include the following items in the order listed below:

  • Section A: A letter of nomination.
  • Section B: A one-paragraph citation from the nominator.
  • Section C: A one-page statement from the nominee.
  • Section D: A full curriculum vitae of the nominee.
  • Section E: Three supporting letters (each a maximum of one page).  Support letters must all be from individuals affiliated with institutions different from the applicant's institution.

Application materials should be submitted electronically through the AEESP website. Application materials will be maintained and reevaluated for three consecutive years.

A committee comprising current AEESP Fellows will manage the review process and recommend new Fellows for a vote.  Names and citations for nominees with greater than 67% approval by the Fellows will be submitted to the AEESP Board of Directors for final approval. Although there will be no absolute limit on the number of AEESP Fellows, as a guideline, it is anticipated that the number of Fellows will not exceed five percent of the AEESP faculty membership and that no more than five Fellows will be added in a single year.

2023 AEESP FellowsInstitution
Joel J. DucosteNorth Carolina State University
Karl G. LindenUniversity of Colorado Boulder
Richard G. LuthyStanford University
2022 AEESP FellowsInstitution
Chad T. JafvertPurdue University
JoAnn SilversteinUniversity of Colorado Boulder
Peter J. VikeslandVirginia Tech
2021 AEESP FellowsInstitution
Kimberly L. JonesHoward University
Gregory V. LowryCarnegie Mellon University
Jerald L. SchnoorUniversity of Iowa
Linda K. WeaversThe Ohio State University
2020 AEESP FellowsInstitution
Lynn E. KatzUniversity of Texas at Austin
Benito J. MariñasUniversity of Illinois at Champaign Urbana
Daniel B. OertherMissouri University of Science & Technology
Michael K. StenstromUCLA
John E. TobiasonUniversity of Massachusetts, Amherst
2019 AEESP FellowsInstitution
Domenico GrassoUniversity of Michigan-Dearborn
Paige NovakUniversity of Minnesota
Kurt PennellBrown University
Stephen RandtkeUniversity of Kansas
Gerald Speitel, Jr.University of Texas at Austin
Jeanne VanBriesenCarnegie Mellon University
2018 AEESP FellowsInstitution
Michael AitkenUniversity of North Carolina
Lisa Alvarez-CohenUniversity of California-Berkeley
Amy ChildressUniversity of Southern California
Dion DionysiouUniversity of Cincinnati
2017 AEESP FellowsInstitution
Morton BarlazNorth Carolina State University
Pratim BiswasWashington University in St. Louis
Sarina ErgasUniversity of South Florida
Joseph HughesDrexel University
Bruce RittmannArizona State University
Sharon WalkerUniversity of California, Riverside
2016 AEESP FellowsInstitution
Joel BurkenMissouri University of Science & Technology
Jim MihelcicUniversity of South Florida
Catherine PetersPrinceton University
Mark RoodUniversity of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2015 AEESP FellowsInstitution
Pedro AlvarezRice University
Cliff DavidsonSyracuse University
Nancy LoveUniversity of Michigan
Debra ReinhartUniversity of Central Florida
Mark WiesnerDuke University
2014 AEESP FellowsInstitution
Paul BishopUniversity of Rhode Island
Bill CooperNational Science Foundation
Menachem ElimelechYale University
Gene ParkinUniversity of Iowa
2013 AEESP FellowsInstitution
Steven ChapraTufts University
David DzombakCarnegie Mellon University
Charles HaasDrexel University
Bruce LoganPenn State University
Susan PowersClarkson University